Turtles’ Tidings…

Olive Ridley hatchlings crawling towards the sea
Turtle hatchlings in the sea

We grew up inside the earth’s womb,


Change in climate is turning a few eggs into a tomb,


Dug out in greed to feed on by ferals, birds, and humankind,


There are a few of us who are left behind,


And as we emerge out of the sand,


A lot of obstructions await us on the land,


We come out in the night,


Designed for a marine life guided by nature’s sounds and celestial light,


But now we are getting confused due to the electric glow from the civilization nearby,


That robbed away our valuable time to reach the ocean close by,


And then when the Sun shows up; we realise our mistake,


Rush to reach back to safety; which leads to a heavy toll that we take,


Trying to avoid getting stuck in those nets,


Hungry looming predators create frets,

The race to survive begins from day one for us,

And there is no time for peers or for us to make a fuss,


Once we reach the sea, it’s a different story,


Many die as by-catch as there is nowhere to flee,

Our creed and food are in peril due to deep sea mining and dredging,

Our oceans are also a finite source; it’s a fact that humans are undermining,

Some people build structures near the coast so that they can boast,

Sincere evaluation and introspection is required on such actions for their ecological cost, 

The convenience desired by sapiens has poisoned the ocean,

Plastic menace has become the main cause of pollution,


With the misconception that everything vanishes with the tides,


People dump things and live in oblivion inside their hides,


These materials make some of us fall sick and feel suffocated,


Need an attempt to curb this trouble from all those who are dedicated,


The land we grew up on we’re losing due to the tussle between people and nature,

We yearn for a group effort from all to secure each other’s future…

©  Nishand Venugopal.  All rights reserved.

Published by sciencenextdoorblog

We are a group of science enthusiasts from all over India. Apart from working for bread and butter, you will find us working passionately in the field of science popularisation. We at "SCIENCE NEXT DOOR" will make you dive in an ocean of facts,drench you in light of logic, greet you with events and entertain you with understanding. Welcome abord!

3 thoughts on “Turtles’ Tidings…

  1. Dear Nishand Venugopal and everyone on the SCIENCE NEXT DOOR team,

    Please kindly allow me to resubmit my very long and detailed comment, as I would like to make some amendments.

    I have perused many of your posts and all your pages, including the “Our Team” and “About Us” pages, where I wanted to comment but commenting has not been enabled there. So here I am to communicate with you.

    I really like your rhyming poetry, in which you have excelled. Personally, I do prefer a poem to rhyme all the way or to rhyme consistently, unless there are compelling or specific reasons not to do so. Since I have been composing mainly rhyming poems, often with end rhymes, internal rhymes, alliterations, assonances, consonances, sibilances as well as rhythmic devices, syllabic schemes, musical patterns, and other subtle or overt features, I naturally notice and gravitate to such features. Hence, I have many good reasons to like your poems, including this one entitled “Turtles’ Tidings…“.

    Moreover, there is a fair amount of maturity of thoughts in your posts, not to mention the range of topics being offered.

    I shall reciprocate graphically and poetically in response to this particular post featuring your Science Poem entitled “Turtles’ Tidings…” as follows:

    Swirls of Gypsy Delight
    Usurp my Gothic Knight
    Reign not SoundEagle🦅’s Flight
    For I seek thy Crested Might

    Pearls of Gnostic Wisdom
    Divine my Cosmic Germ
    Reign not SeaTurtle🐢’s Swim
    For I seek thy Fluid Whim

    I look forward to reading more of your posts and to your visiting my posts and pages. I would like to inform you that when you visit my blog, it is preferrable to use a desktop or laptop computer with a large screen to view the rich multimedia contents available for heightening your multisensory enjoyment at my blog, which could be too powerful and feature-rich for iPad, iPhone, tablet or other portable devices to handle properly or adequately.

    Furthermore, since my intricate blog contains advanced styling and multimedia components plus animations, it is advisable to avoid viewing the contents of my blog using the WordPress Reader, which cannot show many of the advanced features and animations in my posts and pages. It is best to read the posts and pages directly in my blog so that you will be able to savour and relish all of the refined and glorious details plus animations.

    May you find 2022 very much to your liking and highly conducive to your writing, reading, thinking and blogging whatever topics that take your intellectual fantasy and creative reverie in all their depths, diversity and profundity!

    Take care and prosper!

    Yours sincerely,
    SoundEagle

    Like

  2. Dear Nishand Venugopal and everyone on the SCIENCE NEXT DOOR team,

    I have perused many of your posts and all your pages, including the “Our Team” and “About Us” pages, where I wanted to comment but commenting has not been enabled there. So here I am to communicate with you.

    I really like your rhyming poetry, in which you have excelled. Personally, I do prefer a poem to rhyme all the way or to rhyme consistently, unless there are compelling or specific reasons not to do so. Since I have been composing mainly rhyming poems, often with end rhymes, internal rhymes, alliterations, assonances, consonances, sibilances as well as rhythmic devices, syllabic schemes, musical patterns, and other subtle or overt features, I naturally notice and gravitate to such features. Hence, I have many good reasons to like your poems, including this one entitled “Humanity’s Heyday?”.

    Moreover, there is a fair amount of maturity of thoughts in your posts, not to mention the range of topics being offered.

    I shall reciprocate graphically and poetically in response to this particular post featuring your Science Poem entitled “Turtles’ Tidings…” as follows:

    Swirls of Gypsy Delight
    Usurp my Gothic Knight
    Reign not SoundEagle🦅’s Flight
    For I seek thy Crested Might

    Pearls of Gnostic Wisdom
    Divine my Cosmic Germ
    Reign not SeaTurtle🐢’s Swim
    For I seek thy Fluid Whim

    I look forward to reading more of your posts and to your visiting my posts and pages. I would like to inform you that when you visit my blog, it is preferrable to use a desktop or laptop computer with a large screen to view the rich multimedia contents available for heightening your multisensory enjoyment at my blog, which could be too powerful and feature-rich for iPad, iPhone, tablet or other portable devices to handle properly or adequately.

    Furthermore, since my intricate blog contains advanced styling and multimedia components plus animations, it is advisable to avoid viewing the contents of my blog using the WordPress Reader, which cannot show many of the advanced features and animations in my posts and pages. It is best to read the posts and pages directly in my blog so that you will be able to savour and relish all of the refined and glorious details. This will also make commenting easier for you, as you can see, there are already dozens of comments in the said post, some of which are excellent.

    May you find 2022 very much to your liking and highly conducive to your writing, reading, thinking and blogging whatever topics that take your intellectual fantasy and creative reverie in all their depths, diversity and profundity!

    Take care and prosper!

    Yours sincerely,
    SoundEagle

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started